Updated: February 27, 2024
Name: Burenesku Vasily Vasilyevich
Date of Birth: September 6, 1958
Current status: convicted person
Articles of Criminal Code of Russian Federation: 282.2 (1), 282.3 (1)
Current restrictions: Recognizance agreement
Sentence: punishment in the form of 6 years 4 months of imprisonment, with deprivation of the right to engage in activities related to leadership and participation in the work of public organizations for a period of 3 years, punishment in the form of imprisonment shall be considered conditional with a probationary period of 3 years 6 months

Biography

On February 15, 2019, one of the most massive and inhuman operations against believers took place in Surgut and several other cities of the Khanty-Mansi Autonomous Okrug. 7 people reported torture, 3 people were in custody for a long time, and the total number of defendants in criminal cases exceeded 20. One of them is Vasile Burenescu. What do we know about him?

Vasily was born in 1958 in the city of Balti (Moldova). His father left the family early, and his mother had to work so hard that for several years the boy lived in a boarding school. Only on weekends he returned home to his mother, grandmother and great-grandmother, with whom he loved to spend time. As a teenager, he was fond of athletics and weightlifting, loved fishing. After graduating from school at the age of 16, he got a job as a car mechanic.

In 1977, Vasily married Natalia, they had a daughter, Irina. A year later he was drafted into the army. In 1984, the second child was born in the Burenescu family - son Vasily. In search of work, the family had to change more than one place of residence: Murmansk, Pechora, Inta, Ukhta, Arkhangelsk, Surgut. He worked in the field of trade, as well as a loader.

When Vasily was 42 years old, he began to have many difficult life questions, the answers to which he found in the Bible. He was particularly struck by the verse from Psalm 37, which says that the righteous will never be abandoned and his descendants will not ask for bread. He began to think about who the righteous is and how to become one. The wife and children hold a different faith, but this has never been a cause for discord in their family - everyone respects each other's choices.

Looking back, Vasily notes that the most difficult time in his life is behind him - he was able to cope with alcohol addiction, which disrupted his family happiness for 12 years. To date, 61-year-old Vasily suffers from constant pain, limited in movement. He was awarded the III degree of disability.

His wife, Nataliya, has a negative attitude towards the fact that the country's authorities are prosecuting her husband as an extremist. She believes that he is not doing anything criminal, but only practicing his religion.

Case history

In February 2019, the Investigative Committee opened a criminal case against 18 men and 1 woman from Surgut (among them was a man mistaken for a Jehovah’s Witness). Their homes were searched. During the interrogations, 7 believers were subjected to violence. Artur Severinchik was sent to a pre-trial detention center for 29 days, and Yevgeny Fedin and Sergey Loginov - for 56. Timofey Zhukov was illegally placed in a psychiatric hospital for 14 days. Believers complained about the use of torture to the Investigative Committee, the ECHR and the Commissioner for Human Rights, a press conference was held with the participation of human rights defenders, but none of the security forces was ever brought to justice. In October 2021, the case materials were submitted to the court. The prosecutor requested imprisonment for the defendants for a term of 3 years and 3 months to 8.5 years in prison, and for Loginov - 9.5 years, which was the most severe request for punishment for believing in Jehovah God in modern Russia.

Обновлено: 12 июля 2024 г.
ФИО: Буренеску Василий Васильевич
Дата рождения: 6 сентября 1958 г.
Текущий статус в уголовном деле: осужденный
Статьи УК РФ: 282.2 (1), 282.3 (1)
Текущие ограничения: подписка о невыезде
Приговор: наказание в виде 6 лет 4 месяцев лишения свободы, с лишением права заниматься деятельностью, связанной с руководством и участием в работе общественных организаций сроком на 3 года, наказание в виде лишения свободы считать условным с испытательным сроком 3 года 6 месяцев

Биография

15 февраля 2019 года в Сургуте и нескольких других городах Ханты-Мансийского АО прошла одна из самых массовых и бесчеловечных операций против верующих. 7 человек сообщили о пытках, 3 человека долгое время находились под стражей, а общее число фигурантов уголовных дел превысило 20. Один из них — Буренеску Василий. Что мы о нем знаем?

Василий родился в 1958 году в городе Бельцы (Молдавия). Его отец рано оставил семью, и матери приходилось так много работать, что несколько лет мальчик жил в школе-интернате. Лишь по выходным он возвращался домой к маме, бабушке и прабабушке, с которыми любил проводить время. В подростковом возрасте увлекался легкой и тяжелой атлетикой, обожал рыбалку. Окончив школу в 16 лет, устроился работать автослесарем.

В 1977 году Василий женился на Наталье, у них родилась дочь Ирина. Через год был призван на службу в армию. В 1984 году в семье Буренеску родился второй ребенок — сын Василий. В поисках работы семье пришлось сменить не одно место жительства: Мурманск, Печора, Инта, Ухта, Архангельск, Сургут. Работал в сфере торговли, а также грузчиком.

Когда Василию было 42 года, у него стало появляться много сложных жизненных вопросов, ответы на которые он нашел в Библии. Его особенно поразил стих из 37-го Псалма, где говорится, что праведник никогда не будет оставлен и его потомки не будут просить хлеба. Он стал задумываться о том, кто такой праведник и как им стать. Жена и дети придерживаются другой веры, но это никогда не было поводом для раздоров в их семье — все уважают выбор друг друга.

Оглядываясь назад, Василий отмечает, что самое тяжелое время в его жизни позади — он смог справиться с алкогольной зависимостью, которая нарушала его семейное счастье целых 12 лет. На сегодняшний день 61-летний Василий страдает от постоянных болей, ограничен в движении. Ему была присвоена III степень инвалидности.

Жена Наталья отрицательно относится к тому, что власти страны преследуют ее супруга в уголовном порядке как экстремиста. Она считает, что он не делает ничего криминального, а лишь исповедует свою религию.

Краткая история дела

В феврале 2019 года СК возбудил уголовное дело в отношении 18 мужчин и 1 женщины из Сургута (среди них оказался человек, ошибочно принятый за Свидетеля Иеговы). В их домах прошли обыски. Во время допросов 7 верующих подверглись насилию. Артур Северинчик был отправлен в СИЗО на 29 дней, а Евгений Федин и Сергей Логинов — на 56. Тимофей Жуков был незаконно помещен в психиатрический стационар на 14 дней. По факту применения пыток верующие обращались с жалобами в СК, ЕСПЧ и к Уполномоченному по правам человека, была проведена пресс-конференция с участием правозащитников, однако никто из силовиков так и не был привлечен к ответственности. В октябре 2021 года материалы дела поступили в суд. Через два года суд приговорил всех верующих к условным срокам от 4 до 7 лет.