Updated: May 28, 2024
Name: Petrov Igor Vladimirovich
Date of Birth: August 24, 1969
Current status: convicted person
Articles of Criminal Code of Russian Federation: 282.2 (2), 282.3 (1)
Current restrictions: recognizance agreement
Sentence: punishment in the form of 6 years 5 months of imprisonment, with deprivation of the right to engage in activities related to leadership and participation in the work of public organizations for a period of 3 years, with restriction of liberty for a period of 1 year, punishment in the form of imprisonment shall be considered conditional with a probationary period of 3 years 6 months

Biography

On February 15, 2019, one of the most massive and inhuman operations against believers took place in Surgut and several other cities of the Khanty-Mansi Autonomous Okrug. 7 people reported torture, 3 people were in custody for a long time, and the total number of defendants in criminal cases exceeded 20. One of them is Igor Petrov. What do we know about him?

Igor was born in 1969 in the village of Turdakovo (Poretsky district of the Chuvash Republic). The oldest child in the family, he has a brother and sister. He spent his childhood in the city of Shymkent (Kazakhstan). Igor loved to carve wood and sew clothes. He was educated as a cabinetmaker and furniture maker. In 1994 he moved to the city of Surgut (Khanty-Mansi Autonomous Okrug) in search of work. There he worked hard as a carpenter, mason. Now he works as a forklift driver at Surgutneftegaz.

A few years after the move, Igor met his future wife, Larisa. The young people were deeply touched by the beauty and practicality of life-changing biblical principles. Soon they were both determined to live as the Scriptures taught. Igor and Larisa got married in 2001, two years later a son, Matvey, was born in the family. The couple love to spend time with their teenage son, play board games, relax in nature, travel.

When Igor's mother found out that a criminal case had been opened against her son because of his faith, she was extremely outraged and upset. It is difficult for her to understand how such terrible accusations could fall on a simple, kind and hardworking person.

Case History

In February 2019, the Investigative Committee opened a criminal case against 18 men and 1 woman from Surgut (among them was a man mistaken for a Jehovah’s Witness). Their homes were searched. During the interrogations, 7 believers were subjected to violence. Artur Severinchik was sent to a pre-trial detention center for 29 days, and Yevgeny Fedin and Sergey Loginov - for 56. Timofey Zhukov was illegally placed in a psychiatric hospital for 14 days. Believers complained about the use of torture to the Investigative Committee, the ECHR and the Commissioner for Human Rights, a press conference was held with the participation of human rights defenders, but none of the security forces was ever brought to justice. In October 2021, the case materials were submitted to the court. The prosecutor requested imprisonment for the defendants for a term of 3 years and 3 months to 8.5 years in prison, and for Loginov - 9.5 years, which was the most severe request for punishment for believing in Jehovah God in modern Russia.

Обновлено: 25 апреля 2024 г.
ФИО: Петров Игорь Владимирович
Дата рождения: 24 августа 1969 г.
Текущий статус в уголовном деле: осужденный
Статьи УК РФ: 282.2 (2), 282.3 (1)
Текущие ограничения: Подписка о невыезде
Приговор: наказание в виде 6 лет 5 месяцев лишения свободы, с лишением права заниматься деятельностью, связанной с руководством и участием в работе общественных организаций сроком на 3 года, с ограничением свободы сроком на 1 год, наказание в виде лишения свободы считать условным с испытательным сроком 3 года 6 месяцев

Биография

15 февраля 2019 года в Сургуте и нескольких других городах Ханты-Мансийского АО прошла одна из самых массовых и бесчеловечных операций против верующих. 7 человек сообщили о пытках, 3 человека долгое время находились под стражей, а общее число фигурантов уголовных дел превысило 20. Один из них — Петров Игорь. Что мы о нем знаем?

Игорь родился в 1969 году в селе Турдаково (Порецкий район Чувашской Республики). Cтарший ребенок в семье, у него есть брат и сестра. Детство прошло в городе Шымкент (Казахстан). Игорь любил вырезать по дереву и шить одежду. Получил образование столяра-краснодеревщика и мебельщика. В 1994 году переехал в город Сургут (Ханты-Мансийский АО) в поисках работы. Там он много трудился в качестве плотника, каменщика. Сейчас работает водителем погрузчика в компании «Сургутнефтегаз».

Через несколько лет после переезда Игорь познакомился со своей будущей женой, Ларисой. Молодых людей глубоко затронули красота и практичность библейских принципов, меняющие жизнь к лучшему. Вскоре они оба твердо решили жить так, как учит Священное Писание. Игорь и Лариса поженились в 2001 году, спустя два года в семье родился сын Матвей. Супруги любят проводить время с сыном-подростком, играть в настольные игры, отдыхать на природе, путешествовать.

Когда мама Игоря узнала, что против ее сына было возбуждено уголовное дело из-за его веры, она была крайне возмущена и огорчена. Ей сложно понять, как такие страшные обвинения могли пасть на простого, доброго и трудолюбивого человека.

Краткая история дела

В феврале 2019 года СК возбудил уголовное дело в отношении 18 мужчин и 1 женщины из Сургута (среди них оказался человек, ошибочно принятый за Свидетеля Иеговы). В их домах прошли обыски. Во время допросов 7 верующих подверглись насилию. Артур Северинчик был отправлен в СИЗО на 29 дней, а Евгений Федин и Сергей Логинов — на 56. Тимофей Жуков был незаконно помещен в психиатрический стационар на 14 дней. По факту применения пыток верующие обращались с жалобами в СК, ЕСПЧ и к Уполномоченному по правам человека, была проведена пресс-конференция с участием правозащитников, однако никто из силовиков так и не был привлечен к ответственности. В октябре 2021 года материалы дела поступили в суд. Через два года суд приговорил всех верующих к условным срокам от 4 до 7 лет.